Spotlight on Author Charmaine Galloway

charmaine

Charmaine was born and raised in Toledo, Ohio. Writing has been her passion and a positive emotional outlet since middle school. As a teen, writing in her journal allowed her to escape the negativity of her world. Around that time she also began writing her first fiction novel. She finds joy in creating unique and awe inspiring story-lines for the characters in her stories. Ingenuity and imagination is a mainstay and compass in her work.

Charmaine has a Bachelor of Arts in Family Life Education and an Associate Degree in Early Childhood Education. She is currently working on her Masters Degree. Becoming a fierce advocate and supporter of troubled young women has been a goal of hers since overcoming struggles of her own as a young woman. “I believe turning a blind eye or deaf ear to our struggling youth only promotes destruction and demise. They are human. They have a voice. You’ll be surprised by what you learn from them if you just listen.”

Charmaine, being the wearer of many proverbial ‘hats’, is an independent self-publisher and the founder of Charming Gal Publications. She is the CEO and jewelry designer for Forever Divas Fashionable Jewelry, her online jewelry boutique and a Pre-Kindergarten Teacher. However, the most important ‘hat’ she wears is that of Mom to her two children. Following her dreams as a writer and authoress will leave a beautiful legacy for them and encourage them to work hard to achieve their dreams because their Mom didn’t quit reaching for hers.

Her debut poetry book is called My World, Through My Eyes: Poetic Reflections of Life, Self-Love, and Relationships, and her debut Urban Christian Fiction Novel called Girlfriends Secrets are both in stores now.

“As a new author I think it is very important that my readers get to know me. I’m a writer with Christian values and I hope to inspire people with the stories that I pen. My characters are everyday people going through struggles and obstacles because life is not perfect.

With every story I create there is a testimony that my characters will share about life and how they were transformed to become better people. Every story does not have a “happily ever after” ending and neither does real life.”

Thank you Charmaine Galloway for hanging out today. I’ve had the pleasure to network with you on social media outlets and I’m excited about your visit. Now that we know a little bit about you, we’d like to ask some questions so let’s get right to it!

  1. What made you choose to write in the Genre that you write in?

I write Christian Fiction and AA Fiction because I want to encourage others to live their lives to the fullest. In the stories I write my characters may hold secrets from others and they may be trying to get over their dark past. I write because I want whoever that reads my books to be inspired if they had a dark past they can still have a bright future. I write reality based stories adapt to Christian fiction, life is not perfect and neither are the characters in my books.

In our society today there is a need for more Christian Fiction writers. Please if you are a writer don’t be afraid to share the gift that God has given you. Your book just might be the story that others need to read that will encourage them to let go of their struggles and let God intervene in their lives.

2.  When you write, do you write for a long period of time or do you write in short burst?

When I write I usually don’t stop until I have written a full chapter.

3.  Where did your inspiration for Girlfriends Secrets come from?

I love watching the sitcom Girlfriends and I thought it would be fun to write about three women and the issues that they have and the secrets that they hold. But I wanted to adapt their story to Christian Fiction.

4.  What words of advice would you give to aspiring authors?

If you have a story to tell, then you write it. Being a self-published author is not an easy business, you need to have time to put in work to promote and get your books out to the public. But first you should do your research to make sure you are ready for this type of business.

5.  What is your favorite time of year?

Summer. I was born on the first day of summer.

6.  What projects do you have planned for the future?

I have a short story called Heaven’s Cry, it will be out in October. I have a novel called Golden that will be out in November. I have two children books coming out hopefully before Christmas.  The sequel to my debut novel will be out in March 2014.

7.  What do you hope to say to people with your writing?

I hope they my writing will inspire others to seek God and to know that He will heal you when you are sick, He is your strength when you are weak and He will be there to comfort you in your darkest hour, only if you trust and believe.

8.  Is there another hobby you have that you would like to share?

I enjoy designing jewelry for my online jewelry store.

9.   Do you have an official website?    

http://www.charmainegalloway.com

10.  Where can we find you on social media?

Facebook, Twitter, Blogspot, andGoodreads

11.   Where can we find your books?

Amazon and Barnes & Nobles

Girlfriends Secrets

Alisha, Brittany and Tyra have been best friends since high school, sharing everything from clothes to their most intimate thoughts. But when the secrets they all kept pulled them farther and farther apart, the friendship that once meant so much to them took a backseat to pain, anguish and betrayal of the worst kind.

Tyra Bell is a single mother, who has had her share of heartbreaks and disappointments from the pathetic men in her past relationships. While becoming accustomed to her walk as a Christian, Tyra’s faith is shaken to its core when she receives devastating news.

Brittany Parker is the epitome of a “kept” woman. This self-centered house wife of a successful medical doctor lives her life under the premise that life (hers at least) is too perfect to have a care in the world. That is until she runs across someone who shatters the life she once thought to be so perfect.

Alisha Wright is a struggling mother of two. She would go to any measure to stay in a relationship with her son’s father which results in putting both her and her children in harm’s way.

These three women are each on a dangerous path that promises to destroy life as they know it and ultimately take each one of them out in the process.

fb background

Leave a Reply

