National Novel Writing Month

It’s that time of year again! Starting November 1st authors and writers around the globe will be taking to their keyboards to write the novel inside them. The goal of NanoWriMo is to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Granted a lot of writers already have this down pack but a lot of writers don’t. I will be participating this year and Nano is always a challenge for me. I’ve done this challenge twice before so this will be my third go round. Ask me if I have met the 50,000 word challenge and I will tell you NO! I have no excuses, I will start off doing great getting the words down and will feel fantastic. For the first two weeks I am good and on board but then I start to stutter and get stuck in where I’m going with the story. This year I have made it my business to do some research and in my findings I have come across this video.

Gotta love it! Open Ellbey gave good advice on writing an outline so you practically have the story you want to write and the detail and/or the big picture so you won’t have the problem of getting stuck. For me I am a details writer so I started out writing down the big picture. What do I want to happen in this book? From there I wrote down major events. This was a spin off of the big picture basically breaking down so to speak what major events would happen to lead to the big picture. From there I wrote down details for each of this events. It helped me form a great outline and I’m all ready to begin writing. I can truly see the 50,000 words accomplished by the end of November.

So to all of you who haven’t tried this challenge and to the one’s who have tried but have failed I say GO FOR IT! If at first you don’t succeed, dust yourself off and try again! That’s our motto! Never give up! If you are an aspiring writer Nano is a good start to get you started and ready for the writing world. For those of you who have tried Nano and successfully won the challenge KUDO’S to you! You rock, now don’t forget about us who are striving to achieve this goal. Help us out for pete’s sake! I can be found just about anywhere on social media (almost anyway) Make me your writing buddy on Nano’s website http://nanowrimo.org, my username is Stephanienrrs1. Let’s keep each other informed and encouraged to reach these goals at the end of the day that’s what it’s all about! Follow me on twitter and tell me about your progress @stephanienrrs1 using the hashtag #NanoWriMo Happy writing!

3 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month

Leave a Reply

