Spotlight on Author Audrey Ford

Born in Frankfurt, Germany, Ms. Ford was raised an Army brat. Moving from place to place made for a lifestyle of always having to make new friends. She found solace in reading and writing. As she lost herself in the many mysteries of Nancy Drew, Ms. Ford began to imagine her own stories coming to life.. From plays to short stories, anything that came to mind, came out in Ms. Ford’s writings. Like most teenagers, Ms. Ford’s interest in writing went dormant. The passion she had had for writing was reignited with the passing of her father and brother. Writing again was the release that she needed. She is looking forward to telling stories that people will want to read and enjoy.

Thank you for joining us today Ms. Ford we’re glad that you’re here. We’d like to take this time out to get to know more about you and the books you enjoy writing so much. Romance is our favorite genre so we are definitely looking forward to it. Now that we have you for a full segment let’s get right to it!

1.   What made you choose to write in the Genre that you write in?

I wanted to write a story that I had never read. I wanted to do something different from other authors. I wanted to write a book that would keep readers guessing, is it romance, general fiction, etc.

2.   What is your favorite thing about the writing experience and why?

I love getting lost in my characters. When I’m in a “zone” the writing can become like watching a movie. I love that I alone, control the destiny of my characters.

3.   What was the first moment you knew you wanted to write?

After I began to write in a journal I received for Christmas one year. I must have been twelve or thirteen at the time. I knew I had a gift when I started to embellish the things that I was writing about. LOL!

4.   How do you handle bad reviews

I received my first bad review a couple of months ago and was devastated, but then I realized very quickly that everyone is no going to like what I write.

5.   What book do you recommend everyone should read and why?

Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. It is the most powerful piece of work I ever read and one of my favorites.

6.   Where is your favorite place to write?

Sitting in my over-sized chair in my living room, my feet up on my over-sized ottoman and listening to jazz, there is nothing better!

7.   When you write, do you write for a long period of time or do you write in short burst?

I have gone into a zone and work for 10 to 12 hours at one time without interruption. Once the story starts to move I go with it.

8.   Where did your inspiration for this book come from?

I thought of the women in my life who are and have done great things without any recognition, my mother, my grandmothers and aunts. I wanted to pay tribute to these great women in some way.

9.   Who is your favorite author and why?

It would have to be the late Francis Ray. She changed the way I read books. She shape the type of writer I wanted to be. I loved her writing style and I’m going to miss her books a great deal.

10.  What words of advice would you give to aspiring authors?

I believe that everyone has a story inside them, If its there, just write it. I wouldn’t worry about not having done it before. Just write!

11.  What is your favorite character in your book and why?

Wow, that’s like asking which of my children I love more, lol! I would have to say Veronica, she’s very complex and it was fun to see her evolve.

12.  What is your favorite scene from the book or why?

It would have to be the meeting between Chris and Veronica. It was a throwback to the Dallas, Dynasty and Falcon Crest confrontations. It was classy and stylish. The ladies take your breath and give back, only to take it away again.

13.  What is your favorite time of year?

Fall, it’s the time for romance. Fireplaces, hot apple cider and cuddling in front of the fire, having sweet hot things whispered in your ear. Ok I’m done..LOL!

14.  What is the most inspiring quote you have ever heard?

“You can’t go back and get yesterday” This quote inspires you to keep moving forward and not worry about what you should have done.

15.  What projects do you have planned for the future?

I’m looking forward to releasing the third novel of the Elite Sisterhood.

16.  Where can we find your books?

Amazon.com Kindle and Barnes & Noble.com

Check out ‘The Sweet Taste of Love’ on feed your need to read

Leave a Reply

