Short Story Challenge!

Hola! I accepted the challenge to write a short story to the picture below. Check out the quick story that was written for your enjoyment! 😉

shortstory

“Will you pay it this time?” Celine watched him walk to the edge of the bed and buckle his belt. His tongue slid across his teeth as he thought about her request.
“You gave me a hard time, why should I pay anything?”
Her lip trembled, “We had a deal.”
“Sure did and yet you still gave me grief.”
She let out an exasperated breath, “Look,
you know this is not ideal for me. My husband needs major heart surgery, It’s the only way I can pay—“
“Save your story,” he said cutting her off. “I’ve heard it a thousand times.”

“How can you do him like this, he’s your brother for God’s sake.”
He turned to her, “He’s no brother of mine, I could care less about his condition.” A wad of spit flew from his mouth in her direction. “I could care even less about his wife.”
A mist of tears clouded her vision, “I’m not asking you to care,” her voice shook, “Just please hold up your end of the bargain.”
“I don’t know Celine. I’m thinking you owe me one.”
Her heartrate increased, “I just gave you everything. I’m covered in your sweat!” Her chest rose and fell as anger surged through her. Thoughts of the .22 inside her purse flooded her mind. “Don’t make me regret this.” She said through clenched teeth.
A smile played around his lips. This was fun for him. “Don’t you already regret it?”

“I’m not referring to the sex we just had.” He lifted an eyebrow. “Devon, you’re supposed to be dead,” A vein pushed against his forehead.
“Are you threating me?” He took a step toward her and she threw the sheets off and scurried off the bed. Within seconds she’d pulled the handgun from her purse and leveled it on him.
“Brian knows it was you that made the deal with the south side boys. I was supposed to lead you to your death then, but because I love the man that you despise so much you’re still alive. You should be thanking me. Now make the call!” She said. “Don’t try anything stupid. I’m a desperate woman. I’ll kill you myself if I have to.”

He held her through narrowed eyes. “I’m not going to ask you again.” She said.
He pulled out his cell phone and dialed a number, “Put it on speaker.” He obliged.
“Send the payment through.” He spoke into the phone. “All of it.” Celine demanded.
His objection didn’t make it into the air when he watched her take the safety off and pull back the handle.
“All of it.” She said. His eye twitched.
“Send the full payment.” There was a pause on the other end.
“Are you sure?” The voice called out.
“Yes, I’m sure.” There was another pause. “It’s done.” The line died.

“Show me.” Celine said. After a beat he showed her proof the money had been transferred into an offshore account she’d previously set up. Her husband was going to have his surgery. An enormous weight lifted from her shoulders.
“Now what?” he said.
Celine pulled the trigger sending a bullet crashing through his nose. “Phi!” He fell to the floor, eyes wide, mouth agape.
Moving fast, she gathered her clothes and threw them on. Simultaneously, she made a phone call. “It’s handled.”
A dark voice barked, “Good girl, you should come work for me, I can use a skilled shot like you.”

“Thanks, but no thanks. I’m not open for business. Now it’s your turn.” There was a knock at the door.
“I got you, the cleanup crew is already there.”
“How did they get here so quick?”
“They’ve been there for the last two hours,” he paused. “You know, insurance just in case you couldn’t get things done.”

She opened the door. “I’m gone.” She disconnected the call and left discarding the phone and her identity. Disappearing without a trace.

Subscribe to our mailing list

http://eepurl.com/LpFHH

Leave a Reply

